phpBB3 + site integration.

Post all your tuts or request for tuts here.
Torniquet

phpBB3 + site integration.

Post by Torniquet »

Ok long time since i done one of these :p

in this quick tutorial, i am going to go through some quick steps to using phpBB as a foothold for a full member based website (could easily be used in a game aswell)

I will follow up on these in due time, but as it stands, i am still learning and will most likly be developing my main site using said methods (purly because i really cnt be bothered to build a forum from the ground up lol)

and even if i dont use this method in building my website, its still a nice learning experience :)

please take heed of the following note...

I am not an expert phpbb modder, nor am i very experienced in using the phpbb functions, methods or otherwsise when it comes to website intergration.

so please dont ask me how to do things involving phpbb to get things done :p

if you would like to know how to do something, by all means ask... but it doesnt mean it will get answered straight away (if at all)

final note, please no silly questions on why your code is not working, when i have placed the code in pure black and white and knowing it works. i am only showing and going through what i know works.

none of the following is self discovered. it is all taken from various sources and put together.

Love yall xx

Quick reference.

for the perpous to this tutorial. i will refer to root as being my root directory, forum as my forum directory and include as my include directory.
(your files and folders do not have to match mine, just make sure you remember what they are and where they are)

Structure.

Root;
forum;
include;

Step 1) PHPBB install

the most simplest. download phpbb3 and install. i am not going to go through the steps as it is on the main phpbb website.

Step 2) The include file

create a new php file and call it 'phpbb.php' and put it in the include folder.

enter the following code in the above file.